CCM has five standing committees that help drive our association’s actions and policies on various issues. Committees are responsible for addressing the issues in its area of expertise and providing a recommended course of action to staff and the Board of Directors.

Legislative and Political Action Committee

The Legislative Committee is responsible for reviewing legislation of concern and recommending a position on federal and state issues. This Committee is also an independent authority for the CCM Political Action Committee (PAC). As such, committee members are encouraged to attend political fundraisers and PAC activities, as well as meet with candidates and elected officials to discuss industry concerns. Contact Alyssa Houtby, Director of Government Affairs.

Marketing Committee

The Marketing Committee meets regularly to discuss marketing activity such as crop conditions, harvest reports, pricing, and other variables that may impact product marketability. This committee provides input to CDFA and USDA when there are pest, phytosanitary, or regulatory issues potentially impacting growers and provides direction to the industry on such issues as maturity standards, trade issues, packaging, and more. Contact Joel Medina Reyes, Director of Field Operations.

Resource Committee

CA has some of the most stringent environmental regulations in the country. Some are necessary, some are burdensome, and most all are costly. It is the job of the Resource Committee to provide policy recommendations to the Board of Directors on regulations and issues pertaining to air, water, pesticides, and energy. Contact Lori Apodaca, Director of Regulatory Affairs.

Labor Committee

The Labor Committee is responsible for identifying and recommending policy direction to the Board of Directors on labor-related issues such as immigration reform, minimum wage and compensation, heat illness prevention requirements, and other laws and regulations of concern. Contact Alyssa Houtby, Director of Government Affairs.

Scholarship Committee

CCM awards three scholarships annually to students pursuing an education and career in an agricultural related field. The Scholarship Committee meets twice per year to review candidates and select scholarship recipients. Members with a background in education are especially valuable on this committee. Contact Lauren Peltzer, Program Coordinator.