CCM Board of Directors Meet with State Policy Makers in Sacramento

Left to Right: Boomer Murray, Matt Fisher, Lisa Tate, Diane Guinn, Jacob Villagomez, Ariana Joven, Jared Plumlee, Julia Inestroza, Casey Creamer, Joe Shea (Governor’s Deputy Cabinet Secretary), Colby Fry, John Crowe, Gus Carranza, Gabe Olmos

This week California Citrus Mutual (CCM) Board and Government Relations/Political Action Committee (PAC) members conducted their Annual State Government Relations Trip to Sacramento. Our team met with various members of the Governor’s administration, the California State Senate and Assembly. Discussions focused mainly on matters involving recent flood damage, preparing for drought in wet years, cost of production, pesticide regulations and the process for approving new products, and the critical need for continued ACP/HLB education and funding.

During our time in Sacramento, we were fortunate to secure two high-level meetings with Governor Newsom’s Chief of Staff Dana Williamson and California Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis.

Our team also split into groups to meet with numerous Senate and Assembly members from both sides of the aisle to build new relationships and foster existing ones. We were pleased to meet with longtime supporters of the industry like Assemblymember Vince Fong and Senator Melissa Hurtado, along with several Sacramento newcomers.

CCM created further opportunities to advocate for growers by sponsoring an appreciation luncheon for legislative staff members and a dinner for Legislators. These gatherings were well-attended, considering Sacramento’s post-pandemic environment and a return to in-person government affairs.

We would like to thank our directors who joined us in Sacramento to share their stories and provide insight into the challenges faced by our industry every day with our state’s leaders.

CCM Board of Directors with Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis (center).

Citrus display at Legislative Staff Appreciation Lunch hosted by CCM.

Board members Colby Fry Matt Fisher and Julia Inestroza with Senator Melissa Hurtado (right center).

President Casey Creamer, Board Member Gabe Olmos, Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin, Assembly Fellow Krystal Raines and Board Member Lisa Tate.

Articles are property of CCM; please seek permission from CCM for the use of articles and content in any way.


Start typing and press Enter to search